Discover
the creation process

Opening of the bags of the creator Sébastien Cordoleani

Design

Sébastien Cordoleani, the creator of archipel bags


Sébastien Cordoleani is Industrial Designer, trained at ENSCI – les Ateliers Saint Sabin.


For more than 10 years he’s been working in close collaboration with manufacturers and craftsmen on the development of products and furniture. In particular he collaborates with the publishers Moustache, Tolix, Gan Rugs, Ligne Roset and develops several research projects in cooperation with workshops in France, Spain, Mexico, Taiwan and Japan, for instance at the Villa Kujoyama in Kyoto and at the Villa Noailles in Hyères. His fascination for natural materials such as bamboo, wood, minerals and leather, as well as the relevant workmanship, gave him the idea for a particular modality of creation distinguished by products that are manufactured and assembled by hand.


His fascination for natural materials such as bamboo, wood, minerals and leather, as well as the associated workmanship, made him imagine another modality of creation – a production defined by the realization of works that are crafted and made by hand.


Discover others creations on the personal website of the creator Sébastien Cordoleani

Where it all started

Lake Como, place of the original creation of the seamless bags



Archipel started out on Isola Comacina, on Lake Como. Out of a traveller’s need was born a simple, seamless bag: made of a sheet of leather, folded and held in place by the handle.
The designer Sébastien Cordoleani, inspired by natural materials and expertise in crafts and manufacture, dreamt up the Archipel brand.

Atelier

Design Laboratory of the leather bags creator archipel

Hand-made leather bags

Archipel leather bags are hand-crafted in a workshop in Montmartre, right in the heart of Paris. They are cut out with the utmost precision by machine, then hand-assembled. Every leather bag receives dedicated care, thus ensuring a high quality end product.

Détail d'assemblage du sac en cuir dessiné par son créateur

Seamless leather bags

Designer Sébastien Cordoleani has developed a specific technique to produce his personalised version of the seamless leather bag. Every model is the product of careful reflexion. Thus the bags are at both long-lasting and beautiful, with pure shapes deriving from the naturally rounded texture of full-grain vegetable-tanned leather.

Vegetable tanned leather used for the production of seamless Archipel hand bags

Vegetable-tanned leather bags

Archipel uses vegetable-tanned leather with natural pigments. Leather vegetable-tanning is a slow, traditional process based on natural ingredients, such as oak, chestnut or mimosa tannins. It is more environmentally-friendly than chemical tanning and produces a special quality leather.

cutting process of the leather bags by the creator Sébastien Cordoleani

Local traditional know-how

Entirely hand-made in Paris. The leather is selected at Place de la République, cut out at le Marais, just down the road, and made into bags in the workshop in Montmartre.
Working in close collaboration with craftsmen in Paris to produce Archipel leather bags, Sébastien Cordoleani benefits from their expertise in the field of clasps, cuttings and punch-cutters.

A model of handmade bag of Archipel and his content

Leather and its sheen

Varying, natural irregularities give each hide a unique character. Natural leather, which is flesh-coloured, is given no colour or protection. The sun tans it, water may leave its traces, and over time it gains a beautiful sheen.

Leather object design by the creator  Sébastien Cordoleani

Tailor-made

Archipel workshop receives special orders and is ready to arrange various forms of collaboration according to the period and the relevance. Get in touch with us for any special request!

I discover all the bags models

Updating…
  • No products in the cart.

Découvrez
le processus de création

L'ouverture des sacs en cuir du créateur Sébastien Cordoléani

Design

Sébastien Cordoléani, le créateur des sacs en cuir Archipel

Sébastien Cordoleani est un designer industriel, formé à l’ENSCI – les Ateliers Saint Sabin.


Il travaille depuis plus de dix ans au contact d’industriels et d’artisans pour la réalisation de produits et de mobilier. Il collabore notamment avec les éditeurs Moustache, Tolix, Gandia Blasco, Ligne Roset et développe différents projets de recherche avec des ateliers artisanaux en France, en Espagne, au Mexique, à Taiwan et au Japon, à la Villa Kujoyama à Kyoto, à la Villa Noailles à Hyères.


Son attrait pour les matériaux naturels tels que le bambou, le bois, les minéraux, le cuir ainsi que pour les gestes des métiers associés, le conduisent à imaginer une modalité de création/production qui se définie par la réalisation d’ouvrages manufacturés, montés à la main.


Découvrez les autres réalisations sur le site personnel du designer Sébastien Cordoleani

Origine du projet

Le lac de Côme lieu d'origine de la création des sacs en cuir Archipel

Archipel débute à Isola Comacina, sur le lac de Côme. Une nécessité de voyage fait naître un sac simple constitué d’une feuille de cuir, pliée et maintenue en forme par l’anse, sans couture.


Suite à cette expérience personnelle et inspiré par les matières naturelles ainsi que le savoir faire artisanal, le designer Sébastien Cordoleani a imaginé la marque de sac en cuir Archipel.

Atelier

L'atelier de conception des sacs en cuir créateur Archipel

Des sacs en cuir confectionnés à la main

Les sacs en cuir Archipel sont fabriqués artisanalement au cœur de Paris dans l’atelier de Montmartre. Ils sont issus d’une découpe précise et manufacturée, suivie d’un montage manuel. Chaque sac en cuir fait ainsi l’objet d’une attention particulière garantissant la qualité du produit fini.

Détail d'assemblage du sac en cuir dessiné par son créateur

Des sacs en cuir sans couture

Le designer Sébastien Cordoleani a mis au point une technique particulière pour livrer sa version personnelle du sac en cuir sans couture. Chaque modèle est le fruit d’une réflexion pour parvenir à un résultat aussi robuste qu’esthétique où la pureté des formes découle du galbe naturel du cuir à tannage végétal pleine fleur.

Le cuir végétal utilisé pour la création des sacs Archipel

Des sacs en cuir à tannage végétal

Archipel utilise pour la confection de tous ses sacs du cuir à tannage végétal et à pigmentation naturelle. Le tannage végétal du cuir est un procédé lent et traditionnel à base d’agents naturels tels que les tannins de chêne, châtaignier ou mimosa. Il est davantage respectueux de l’environnement que le tannage chimique et produit une qualité de cuir particulière.

la découpe du cuir pour les sacs du créateur Sébastien Cordoléani

Des savoirs-faire locaux et artisanaux

Pour la confection des sacs en cuir Archipel, le designer Sébastien Cordoleani a développé une collaboration étroite avec des artisans situés dans Paris qui apportent leurs savoir-faire dans le domaine de la fabrication de fermoirs et de la découpe à l’emporte-pièce.

Un modèle de sac en cuir créé par Archipel et son contenu

Le cuir et sa patine

Les irrégularités naturelles et variables donnent à chaque peau un caractère unique. Le cuir Naturel, de couleur chair ne reçoit pas de coloration, ni protection. Le soleil le fait bronzer, l’eau peut laisser des marques, il prend une belle patine avec le temps.

Je découvre tous les modèles de sacs

Updating ..
Votre panier est actuellement vide.